Expanding the horizon on reading and starting at the heart

As a part of my reading goal this year I wanted to get in some books that support growth. Growth as an individual, as a business, and as a wife. I wanted to explore books beyond what I have read in that past. In years past I have read lots of fiction books in all sorts of genres, but this year I wanted to have a bit more purpose and thought to the books I read. One of the books that I was able to read very early in the year was Crazy Little Thing Called Marriage: 12 Secrets for a Lifelong Romance by Greg and Erin Smalley. I received this book through Tyndale Publishers and was excited to dive in to my first marriage book.

This book was so easy to get into and easy to relate. I was impressed with how Greg just jumps right into the interactions he and Erin had in figuring out marriage. I was able to see things in my own marriage and experiences that I have been through with my husband in learning to understand our differences and work together. In fact I have requested my husband to read this book because I felt like I was able to get so much insight from it and saw many points that would be helpful for him to understand me a bit better.

The book is structured around the 12 items they have laid out as their secrets to happiness. Each chapter brings insight to their world and how they have discovered the importance of each marriage secret. Greg is the main viewpoint in the book, his whit and insight on his own blunders as a husband brought straight laughter.  Erin’s interjections are well timed and also bring good humor to the learning process of marriage.

Though it is not all fun and games this couple has found a way to bring some fun into reading about marriage and creating a better understanding of your partner.

Crazy Little Thing Called Marriage: 12 Secrets for a Lifelong Romance

 

Do you have a reading goal that you are working on this year? Have you created or found a list of books to read through? Let me know in the comments, I would like to get more ideas on what to read this year. I have set a goal of 65 books for myself this year as a pure guess. I have never tracked my reading before so it will be interesting to see where I land. You can follow my reading journey on GoodReads and see what I have in my current reading, already read and what I would like to read (maybe not all for this year, but we will see how far I get).

Leave a Reply

